URGENT CALL TO ACTION: Fracking Ban in Florida

Share Button

Fight for Ban on Fracking (S.B. 442)

During the 2017 Florida State Legislature

Progress For All has joined the Floridians Against Fracking Coalition – a statewide group including environmental, social justice and business groups calling for an all-out “Ban on Fracking” during the Florida State legislative session. We’ll need your help getting the bi-partisan bills through the appropriate committees in the House and the Senate that will hear the bills before full floor votes in both chambers.

The first committee that heard the ban on fracking bill, the Senate Committee on Environmental Preservation and Conservation, unanimously passed S.B. 442 with bipartisan support. We can credit this first victory to thousands of Floridians like you who called and spoke out against the dangers of fracking in our state, despite the heavy lobbying by fossil fuel companies.  

The next and last committee to hear the ban on fracking bill before it hits the Senate floor is the Senate Committee on Appropriations. We are urging concerned citizens to call the Senate Appropriations Committee’s Chair and committee members to ensure that the bill moves forward to passage on the Senate floor.  

Please find a short script below.

“Dear Senator:

There are many environmental and public health concerns linked to fracking. Gas that is leaked during the fracking process, along with the numerous toxic chemicals that are used, creates air and water pollution that increases global warming and is a danger to our human health.

We urge you to ban the unsafe oil and gas extraction process known as fracking in Florida by voting for S.B. 442.”

Please feel free to add your own message too!

To E-mail Senators: lastname.firstname@flsenate.gov

Example: Latvala.Jack@flsenate.gov

Committee on Appropriations

Chair: Senator Jack Latvala (R) SD-16-Pasco/Pinellas Counties (850) 487-5016

Vice Chair: Senator Anitere Flores (R) SD-39-Monroe/Miami-Dade Counties (850) 487-5039

Senator Aaron Bean (R) SD-4-Nassau/Duval Counties (850) 487-5004

Senator Lizbeth Benacquisto (R) SD-27-Lee County (850) 487-5027

Senator Lauren Frances Book (D) SD-32-Broward County (850) 487-5032

Senator Randolph Bracy (D) SD-11-Orange County (850) 487-5011

Senator Rob Bradley (R) SD-5-Baker/Bradford/Clay/Columbia/Dixie/Gilchrist/Lafayette/Levy/Suwannee/Union/Marion Counties (850) 487-5005

Senator Jeff Brandes (R) SD-24-Pinellas County (850) 487-5024

Senator Oscar Braynon II (D) SD-35-Broward/Miami-Dade Counties (850) 487-5035

Senator George B.  Gainer (R) SD-2-Bay/Holmes/Jackson/Walton/Washington/Okaloosa Counties (850) 487-5002

Senator Bill Galvano (R) SD-21-Manatee/Hillsborough Counties (850) 487-5021

Senator Audrey Gibson (D) SD-6-Duval County (850) 487-5006

Senator Denise Grimsley (R) SD-26-DeSoto/Glades/Hardee/Highlands/Okeechobee/Charlotte/Lee/Polk Counties (850) 487-5026

Senator Bill Montford (D) SD-3-Calhoun/Franklin/Gadsden/Gulf/Hamilton/Jefferson/Leon/Liberty/Madison/Taylor/Wakulla Counties (850) 487-5003

Senator Bobby Powell (D) SD-30-Palm Beach County (850) 487-5030

Senator David Simmons (R) SD-9-Seminole/Volusia Counties (850) 487-5009

Senator Wilton Simpson (R) SD-10-Citrus/Hernando/Pasco Counties (850) 487-5010

Senator Kelli Stargel (R) SD-22-Lake/Polk Counties (850) 487-5022

Thank you for your continued support and activism.


Tim Canova

Chair, Progress For All

Share Button

Related posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *